The Little Black Book

5 Jan

So . . .  here it is! Our hugely popular Little Black Book.

This FREE handy little guide is a MUST for print designers.

Printing blacks, especially in solid areas, is still very ‘in’ but there are right and wrong ways to produce them well. Our LITTLE BLACK BOOK is THE ONLY guide available that will show you how!

Including samples of black mixes on both COATED and UNCOATED stocks, this very useful tool has received fantastic reviews:

” The Little Black Book has become a vital tool when it comes to producing print work. It is invaluable to see just how different mixes of black really look on paper. The book is worth it’s weight in (black) gold.”  One2Create

The Little Black Book has proven to be an invaluable reference tool on several projects. It now sits proudly next to our pantone swatch books.”  Bond & Coyne Associates

Are you a Print Designer working in the SOUTH of ENGLAND ??  Would you like a FREE copy??

Please get in contact to find out how . . .

This really is a great little tool – you will find it very useful.

39 Responses to “The Little Black Book”

  1. Stuart Bradley January 5, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Hi,

    I would love to get a copy of this book as blacks have caused many an issue in the past and it would be absolutely brilliant to have this sort of practical reference.

    Please let me know if this would be possible.

    Kind regards

    Stuart

    • chrisdayfold January 5, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

      Hi Stuart – You are very welcome to a copy – this will certainly help clear up any issues. It needs a little explanation though, so I will need to drop in with one. This will also give us an opportunity to have a quick chat and I would love to show you some more of our interesting and creative print work. If this is OK, perhaps we could arrange this the week after next when I will be close by. Hope to hear back from you.
      Regards
      ChrisP

  2. Ian Moore January 25, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Hello Chris

    I would love one of these little books, it’s something that regularly comes up in the studio. How do we get hold of one?

    Ian / Lekker Design

    • chrisdayfold January 25, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

      Hi Ian. No problem, I know you’ll find this useful. Will be in contact very soon. It needs a little explanation . . .
      Regards ChrisP

  3. Gene Cooke January 25, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Hey Dayfold, saw this on WeMadeThis, mighty praise indeed. Could come in very handy, can I get one please and thanks?
    Best
    Gene

    • chrisdayfold January 25, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

      Hey Gene . . . Agreed, mighty praise. These handy little beauties are really hitting the spot!! will be in touch soon. Regs ChrisP

  4. Simon Hawkesworth January 26, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Hi
    A fantastic resource for anyone who has ever thumped the desk in frustration at getting lacklustre blacks

    I would love to have a copy if you can provided one.

    Excellent work

    Simon H.

    • chrisdayfold January 26, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

      Hi Simon . . . thanks for your comments. Our LBB is indeed receiving great praise, i am sure you will find this handy.
      It does need a little explanation so best I drop one in to you if you are in the South of the UK??
      please let me know. Best . . . chris@dayfold.com

  5. David Airey January 26, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Looks superb, Chris.

    I arrived here via the WeMadeThis blog, and would love a copy (but I’m in Edinburgh, so if that’s too far afield, no worries at all).

    Great job.

    • chrisdayfold January 26, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

      Hey David, nice to hear from you. Our LBB is indeed receiving great praise, i am sure you will find this handy.
      I will contact you via your email address . . . best, Chris

  6. Jason Fait January 26, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    I saw this via twitter on WeMadeThis. Is this book available in the states. If so let me know how we might be able to get are hands on one. Thanks.

    Jason Fait

  7. Mirko Echghi-Ghamsari January 27, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Came across this through a tweet of David Airey. Looks really good. May I ask, ifI have a chance to order/get it from Germany? Really interested.

  8. Mirko Echghi-Ghamsari January 27, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    For some reason my first reply doesn’t show up.

    I learned about the Black Book from a tweet from David Airey and would love to have one. I’m from Germany if that’s not to much of a trouble.

    Thanks

  9. musicsiao January 28, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    Hey Chris,

    got here from a RT in twitter. was wondering if i can get a copy? not sure if i can find this in stores. i would really like one! X_X

    weili from singapore

  10. Jacque January 28, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    I arrived here via twitter via wemadethis, this looks like such a great little book, I would use this everyday! Problem is I’m a little more south than London, but do have contacts in London. Is there any chance of getting one?

    Many thanks

    Jacque

  11. danijanev January 28, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    Hi,
    Any chances to ship this to Macedonia? I would pay for some standard regular shipping.
    Thanks in advance.

  12. Ryanna Pala Veras January 29, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    I would like to have one free book. I live in London. Thanks

    • chrisdayfold January 29, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

      Hi Ryanna

      Thanks for your interest in our LBB.

      Where about in London are you . . . Do you have a website?

      The book needs a little explanation so it would be best if I drop a copy into you. If you design for print, you will certainly find this useful.

      This will give us an opportunity to have a brief chat as I would like to learn more about you and your work and explain about the really interesting work we do.

      Hope to hear from you soon.

      Regards

      Chris Pollard Direct Dial: 01202 812203 Mobile: 07721 667529

      FOLLOW OUR VERY NEW BLOG: https://dayfold.wordpress.com

      Please connect with me on LinkedIn: http://uk.linkedin.com/in/creativeprint

  13. Panos January 29, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Hello,
    needless to say this looks really amazing and extremely helpful.
    I am currently in Greece but have been in London for sometime and I still keep in touch with clients over there.
    I was wondering if there is any chance of posting one to my greek address since I think it will be very helpful.
    Even if you can not do this, I still have to thank you for your great work!

    Take care,
    Panos

    • chrisdayfold January 29, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

      Hey Panos

      Great to hear from you . . . thanks for your interest in our Little Black Book!

      These little beauties are really going down well, I am pretty sure you would find one useful.

      We have only really been pushing this in the UK (in particular the South of the UK) because it is a great way to ‘get one’s foot in the door’, and hence them being ‘Free’ in the UK!!

      However, I am sure this will change soon – we really have had an amazing global response . . . there is going to have to be a charge though to cover packing and shipping etc.

      This hasn’t been finalised yet but I will certainly keep you posted. . .

      Meantime, please keep in touch and maybe subscribe to our blog to keep up-to-speed with what we’re up to!!

      Hope all is well with you!!

      Best

      ChrisP

      Chris Pollard Direct Dial: 01202 812203 Mobile: 07721 667529

      FOLLOW OUR VERY NEW BLOG: https://dayfold.wordpress.com

      Please connect with me on LinkedIn: http://uk.linkedin.com/in/creativeprint

  14. Liz Dixon February 3, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    Hi, wonderful book, found you on we made this and followed you here. Glad I did. I am an A level teacher of Graphic Design and part time illustrator and would so love to be able to use your book to give my students greater understanding of printing and the use of black in their own work……and for me for mine. 🙂 Thank you if you can send us one.

    • chrisdayfold February 3, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

      Hello Liz. Thanks for your interest in our LBB! Sure, you’d be very welcome to a copy. It does need an explanation so i will email you directly . . . best. ChrisP

      • Liz Dixon February 4, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

        Thanks Chris, I shall look forward to it.

        Liz.

  15. Katy February 12, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    This little black book would be so useful! Unfortunately I live in California. Any way to get it across the Atlantic?
    Cheers

    • chrisdayfold February 14, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      Hey Katy!
      Hopefully, we will be able to ship these handy little beauties to the US.

      I’ll add you to the list and let you know when and where.

      Thanks for your interest!

      Best Wishes
      ChrisP

  16. Polina February 14, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Hello Chris,

    What a wonderful guide The Little Black Book! I’m living and studying in Barcelona. It would be an mazing tool to have. I’m an interior design student in IED. It would solve so many problems with printing. Is there a chance to get them here in Spain?

    Thanks

    Polina

  17. Andrew February 15, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    Seconded! Please let a fella know if these come over. Thanks…

  18. Jay February 20, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Oooooooo.

    There’s a list for those of us well outside the southern UK who want to run our grubby fingers all over this wonderful looking little black book? Count me in, please!

  19. Stephanie February 23, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Yes! The book looks incredible. Please add me to the list of contacts for when it hits the states.
    Very interested here in Florida!

  20. paul copeman March 4, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Hello
    Have just read your blog, excellent.
    I am a lecturer in graphics at a little provicial college in cambridgeshire, uk and I would love to be able to have a copy of your black book to help explain some of the printing techniques and the problems encountered with certain colour combinations.
    be great if you can help many thanks
    Paul

    • chrisdayfold March 8, 2010 at 10:33 am #

      Hey Paul. Nice to hear from you . . . I will be happy to send a copy to you. We have just made up a good few more so if you can let me have your contact details, I will post a copy to you. It does need a bit of an explanation so i do prefer to meet up so we can discuss but as you are a little out of my area, I will send one and perhaps we could discuss on the phone once you have it? Thanks for your interest, I am sure you will find this helpful. ChrisP

  21. chrisdayfold March 6, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    Hi All
    I am really sorry that I have not come back to some of you.
    As you can imagine, these little beauties have gone down really well and it’s taking a while to get round to replying.
    Please bear with us.

    For those of you that are not in the South of the UK, the Little Black Books will be available via eBay very soon.
    Thank you for your patience.
    Best wishes
    ChrisP

    • Roland Scull August 27, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      Hi Chris,

      Are there any of these books left? Looks quite handy.

      Thanks.

      Roland.

      • chrisdayfold August 27, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

        Hi Roland
        Yes we have a few – I’m sure you’ll find a copy handy. My collegue Alan looks after the Swindon area . . . I’ve asked him to make contact to drop in a copy . . .
        Thanks for visiting!
        Best
        ChrisP

  22. Chris Pollard May 11, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    Hi All

    Hope all is good with you . . .

    You will be pleased to know that our iconic (as it has been called) Little Black Book, our LBB, is now available via Ebay. Please check the link below:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Dayfolds-Little-Black-Book-PRINT-BEST-Rich-Black-/110531486848?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item19bc30a480

    Thank you

    Regards

    • Stephen March 14, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      Hi there,
      Sounds like I need to be in on this little black book – I have a client who smothers everything in black.
      I’m an ex-repro guy but a little rusty.
      Are there any left?
      thanks
      Stephen

      • chrisdayfold March 15, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

        Hi Stephen
        Thanks for your interest . . .
        We do have about 20 or so left. Happy to post a copy to you – why not pm you address and I will send you one?
        Best
        ChrisP

  23. sonisandwich February 17, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Hi Dayfold!

    Are there any LBB left? They sound awesome, and I’ve got a job coming up with so much black I’m slightly freaking out about it.
    Thanks!

Leave a comment